A3P

Log in

Therapy blocks aggressive lung cancer for two years

A new targeted therapy stops for more than two years the progression of an aggressive form of lung cancer, nearly three times longer than the current reference treatment, according to the results of a clinical trial published Monday.

Alecensa (alectinib), of the Swiss laboratories Roche, blocked 15 months longer the proliferation of this non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) with the genetic mutation ALK, which the Xalkori (crizotinib) of the American competitor Pfizer, The data from this study conducted with 303 patients.

"No one would have thought possible to delay the progression of advanced lung cancer for such a long time because for most targeted therapies for lung tumors we stop the progression of the tumor around twelve months," she said. Dr. Alice Shaw, Director of the Department of Thoracic Cancer at the Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston.

She conducted this 3 clinical trial and presented the results at the annual conference of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO), the world's largest cancer symposium held in Chicago since Friday.

These two molecules, Alecensa and Xalkori, target the mutation of the ALK gene, which affects about 5% of all people with lung cancer NSCLC and boosts the proliferation of cancer cells.

Some 12.500 cases are diagnosed annually in the US and 140.000 worldwide, according to the ASCO.

"The fact that this second generation targeted therapy stops the progression of advanced lung cancer for more than two years while preventing metastasis in the brain is a remarkable result against this challenging disease," said Dr. John Heymach , A professor of medicine at head and neck oncology at the Anderson Cancer Center at the University of Texas, who did not participate in the clinical study.

"Thanks to this advance we are on the way to help these patients to live longer and better," he added at a press conference on Monday.

Alecensa is currently authorized only for patients with ALK-positive lung cancer whose condition has worsened despite treatment with Xalkori, the initial therapy of current choice.

This last clinical trial showed that Alecensa reduced the risk of progression or death of 53% compared to Xalkori since patients experience 25,7 months (median value) after diagnosis, against 10,4 months with Xalkori.

These researchers also found that there was significantly less brain metastasis with Alecensa (9% of patients) than with Xalkori (41% of the patients).

Severe side effects (fatigue, constipation and muscle pain) were observed in 41% of participants in the study treated with Alecensa versus 50% in the Xalkori group.

a3p-100pxhaut logo

 fren

Commit to share
Transmit and progress together
Promoting innovation

The A3P Association is a major player in the pharmaceutical and biotechnology industry.
Created in 1986, it contributes to the good development of the production of medicines and clean and sterile equipment, it runs a network of professionals 21 000, manufacturers and suppliers, as part of International Congress and technical days.

It now has over 1700 members who share their technical experience, scientific and regulatory.

More info on video (Versiongb here )


  group    administrators A3P
    
& Project Managers

letter   newsletter A3P

A3P

Connexion

Une thérapie bloque le cancer agressif du poumon pendant deux ans

Une nouvelle thérapie ciblée arrête pendant plus de deux ans la progression d'une forme agressive du cancer du poumon, soit près de trois fois plus longtemps que le traitement de référence actuel, selon les résultats d'un essai clinique publiés lundi.

L'Alecensa (alectinib), des laboratoires helvétiques Roche, a ainsi bloqué 15 mois de plus la prolifération de ce cancer pulmonaire non à petites cellules (CPNPC) avec la mutation génétique ALK, que le Xalkori (crizotinib) du concurrent américain Pfizer, montrent les données de cette étude menée avec 303 patients.

"Personne n'aurait imaginé possible de retarder aussi longtemps la progression d'un cancer avancé du poumon puisque pour la plupart des thérapies ciblées pour les tumeurs pulmonaires on obtient un arrêt de la progression de la tumeur autour de douze mois", a expliqué la Dr Alice Shaw, directrice du service de cancérologie thoracique au Massachusetts General Hospital à Boston.

Elle a mené cet essai clinique de phase 3 dont elle a présenté les résultats à la conférence annuelle de l'American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO), le plus grand colloque mondial sur le cancer qui se tient à Chicago depuis vendredi.

Ces deux molécules, l'Alecensa et le Xalkori, ciblent la mutation du gène ALK, qui affecte 5% environ de toutes personnes atteintes d'un cancer du poumon CPNPC et dope la prolifération des cellules cancéreuses.

Quelque 12.500 cas sont diagnostiqués annuellement aux Etats-Unis et 140.000 dans le monde, selon l'ASCO.

"Le fait que cette thérapie ciblée de deuxième génération arrête la progression d'un cancer avancé du poumon pendant plus de deux ans tout en empêchant des métastases dans le cerveau, est un résultat remarquable contre cette maladie difficile", a jugé le Dr John Heymach, professeur de médecine au service de cancérologie de la tête et du cou au Centre Anderson du cancer à l'Université du Texas, qui n'a pas participé à l'étude clinique.

"Grâce à cette avancée nous sommes sur la voie d'aider ces malades à vivre plus longtemps et mieux", a-t-il ajouté lors d'une conférence de presse lundi.

L'Alecensa est pour le moment autorisé seulement pour les malades atteints de ce cancer du poumon ALK-positif dont l'état s'est aggravé malgré un traitement avec le Xalkori, la thérapie initiale de choix actuelle.

Ce dernier essai clinique a ainsi montré que l'Alecensa réduisait le risque de progression ou de décès de 53% par rapport au Xalkori puisque les malade vivent 25,7 mois (valeur médiane) après le diagnostic, contre 10,4 mois avec le Xalkori.

Ces chercheurs ont également constaté qu'il y avait nettement moins de métastases du cerveau avec l'Alecensa (9% des patients) qu'avec le Xalkori (41% des malades).

Des effets secondaires sévères (fatigue, constipation et douleurs musculaires) ont été constatés chez 41% des participants de l'étude traités avec de l'Alecensa, contre 50% dans le groupe du Xalkori.

logo a3p-100pxhaut

 fren

S'engager pour partager
Transmettre et progresser ensemble
Promouvoir l'innovation

L’Association A3P est un acteur incontournable de l’industrie pharmaceutique et biotechnologique. 
Créée en 1986, elle contribue au bon développement de la production de médicaments et de matériels propres et stériles, elle anime un réseau de 21 000 professionnels, fabricants et fournisseurs, dans le cadre de Congrès internationaux et de journées techniques.

Elle regroupe aujourd’hui plus de 1700 adhérents qui partagent leurs expériences techniques, scientifiques et réglementaires.

 + d'infos en vidéo ( version gb ici )


  group    Administrateurs A3P
    
& Chargés de missions

letter   Newsletter A3P